Organizational Structure

The hierarchy of the university can be quite confusing, particularly if you’re new to a university environment!

Texas A&M System

First, it's essential to know that Texas A&M is part of the Texas A&M System, which is one of the largest systems of higher education in the nation. The System includes 11 universities, a health sciences center, and 7 state agencies (referred to as "system members"). In total, the A&M System has over 109,000 students!

The Chancellor oversees the day-to-day operation and management of the Texas A&M System, while the nine-member Board of Regents oversees the administration and sets policy direction for all system members. The Regents are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Texas Senate for six-year terms. There is also one non-voting student member. The Chancellor is appointed by the Governor at the recommendation of the Board of Regents. The Office of the Chancellor is located in College Station, TX.

Texas A&M University

The leadership of Texas A&M University includes the following positions:

  • President: Has executive responsibility for the university. The President is selected by and reports to the Chancellor, with approval by the Board of Regents.
  • Provost: Serves as the university’s chief academic officer and has responsibility for the teaching, research, and service activities of the university. The position of Provost and Executive Vice President for Academics reports to the President.
  • President's Cabinet: Have administrative responsibility for numerous operational, financial and service functions within the university.
  • Deans: Have administrative responsibility for a college. Deans are appointed by the Board of Regents after recommendations are made by the President and Chancellor.

Organizational Charts